Generative art and delicious brunch

March 8, 2009 at 11:30 pm Leave a comment

One of my favorite ultra-nerdy niche blogs, FlowingData, just released this totally sweet post about Nokia’s recent collaboration with a couple of generative artists to promote a new smartphone.

Here’s my beautiful message, synthesized from input to my Macbook’s camera, mic, and an on-site text box. For the record, the input included flailing my hands, a coughing fit (thanks bronchitis), and the text take me home tonight!!!!!. I’m about as artistic as a shoe full of pudding.

In addition to creating beautiful messages, I went to brunch at Salut today, which was excellent. The quest for the perfect Twin Cities brunch destination begins. Salut gets good marks for providing a lot of good food for not a lot of money, a cute atmosphere, and a pretty low-effort location.

But the crowd’s a little, well, Edina, and also I can’t really handle the fact that their website asks you if you’d like to view it in French or English. I mean, I get the whole Francophile aesthetic and I think it’s pretty cute, but good god this is Minnesota, please get over yourself.

Can I Yelp about that?

Entry filed under: links, personal. Tags: , .

Why hasn’t someone thought of this before? Aimee Mullins is taller than you

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


