Everyone: We’re just like us!

November 12, 2008 at 10:45 pm 1 comment

I just spent the past ten minutes watching Twittervision. If you check it out, I recommend the 3D view–it’s kind of cool, watching the globe spin. Someone complains about her sore throat in Sweden, then in Austin  someone marvels at the price of gas. It’s obviously voyeuristic, but also strangely lonely to watch.

Twitter’s still really foreign to me, and so I’m still not sure how I feel about it. It makes me all warm and fuzzy to think that people are concerned with the minutiae of others’ lives, but the oversharing side of it kind of creeps me out. Yeah yeah, says I the blogger, but at least I’m not posting what I ate for dinner.

It’s not like blogging, though. Twitter isn’t the place for grand and unique pronouncements about the world–there’s a 140-character limit! Twitter is for the little things, the tedium. Which is, I think, what makes it so absurd to people, myself included. But I also think that the inherent tedium in Twitter–I made a casserole, my bike’s broken, the baby is teething on Nana’s wooden leg, the dog won’t sit when we tell him to–provides people with a sense of peaceable unity with one another. It’s less rigorous than blogging, but it’s a lot less manically hostile, too.

Entry filed under: links. Tags: .

Here’s hoping. In the dead of winter, keeping a stiff (and smooth) upper lip.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kay Arr  |  December 1, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    Whoa, that’s hypnotizing. I still don’t know what to make of Twitter – features like that are hard not to watch, and the election coverage was good, but what a weird way to communicate. Let me know how it goes for you.

    I hope you had a happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


