Long overdue

October 20, 2008 at 5:04 pm 1 comment

So, I’ve cut all the political blogs from my Google Reader. Yes. It’s over. No more Talking Points, no more Think Progress, no more Power Line (token conservative voice), etc etc.

If I didn’t live in a swing state I might feel a little more tolerant towards political talk during the next two weeks, but the phone calls, the emails, the shrill speculations, the petty outrages, and the wholesale YouTubing have all reached a breaking point for me.

I’m also tired of Palin jokes.

This is a larger part of a greater plan for my life.

In short, I just can’t deal with politics anymore. I have put a personal moratorium upon my own involvement in election-related discussions that do not count toward a class participation grade. I will not participate. I do not care. I am voting and everyone else who’s going to vote is voting and no one can convince anyone to vote differently so the point is moot.

Call me on November 5th. But please speak softly into the phone, as I will be miserably hungover.

For what it’s worth, I replaced them with homepage feeds from the NY Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and BBC. That last one might not stay–I just received an article about the Pakistan Cricket Board.

Entry filed under: personal. Tags: , .

First world problems, vol. 2 Peirce, STDs, etc.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. NM  |  October 21, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    What about Trig jokes?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


