A day at the Fair

August 23, 2008 at 6:09 pm Leave a comment

Today was a perfect day to go to the Minnesota State Fair–it was slightly cool and breezy out, which made navigating through the throngs way more tolerable than normal. I haven’t been since high school! Kenyon’s been out to dilute my essential Minnesotaness since I was a freshman. UNTIL NOW. HA HA HA, SUCKERS.

So, let’s start with food. I didn’t eat as much as I expected, and I still haven’t gotten up the courage to try the real big hitters. I’m talking deep fried candy bars, chocolate-covered bacon, alligator, hot dish on a stick, it goes on (and on and on and on). I did get some basic staples though–consider it my segue back into the Culture of the Fair.

Food #1: An amazing turkey sandwich–moist and slightly barbecuey–purchased right across the street from the poultry building.

Food #2: Most delicious mini-donuts, piping hot and encrusted with sugar. Note Mom’s zippy brown Keds.

Food #3: Beergarita. No, seriously! Let me explain. Leinenkugel Honey Weiss beer, blended with regular margarita mix, produces a drink that is slightly sweet, mostly tangy, and veeerrrry refreshing. Some say it’s an acquired taste, but I disagree–I fell in love from the very first sip.

Food #4: Cheese curds. Duh. Quite possibly the best food ever. Check out that grease. I walked so far (in slight agony, as my feet were both blistered and tired) to find a stand that sold these, and paid five bucks for a tray that fit in my hand. It was so worth it.

And here are some essential snapshots:

From left to right: ribbon-winning cakes, bundt and otherwise; the state’s largest pig (Squeaky, 1240lbs); and the Dairy Building’s butter sculptor at work.

Entry filed under: images, personal. Tags: , , .

Second verse, same as the first. Thoughts on The Hills

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


